Following?

So last night I was reading in the book of Luke where it talks about Jesus calling his disciples, it got me thinking about the type of people he surrounded himself with.

Four fishermen, a tax collector (Luke 5), a former disciple of John the Baptist, a friend of fishermen, one who sat under a tree (John 1). Scriptures doesn’t tell us how all twelve were called but every Gospel speaks of the calling of Simon Peter, James and John. These were also the three disciples who were closest to Jesus throughout his ministry. What made them good followers?

I have been thinking about this the last few days as I have been pondering what to do and where to go. To the outside world I want to go to Korea, which is true but I have some hesitation about this as well. And the reason for my hesitation is because if I go there am I really following what Jesus wants from me?

Now one of the things that made those three, Peter, James and John great disciples was that they were willing to leave family and friends to follow. That was one of the things Jesus said you had to be willing to do, not everyone will leave their families. I already am not really around my family very often but I still feel like there is something missing for me before I am fully following what Jesus wants from me.

So in order to discover what I was missing I looked back at the original disciples. The original disciples weren’t perfect, they had their flaws, just like anyone else. Peter had trust issues, when Jesus told him to walk on water he fell because he didn’t focus on Jesus. When Jesus told him he would deny him, he denied that because of pride. Thomas doubted that Jesus had come back from the dead. Levi was a tax collector and had more than likely cheated people out of their money for years. Judas (who would betray him) was greedy. The brothers James and John were typical bickering brothers, they wanted to know who was better.

After thinking about all of this I came to a conclusion… I don’t have to know what I am doing to follow Jesus. He wants me, He knows my faults, and it is most likely those little things that make me me that he will use to serve him. I still don’t know where in the world I will go but I know that no matter where I am I want to be serving Jesus because he is the one who I am following.

Leave a comment